top of page

Past Winners of the Jack Prize | Jack Medal

The 2021 Jack Medal

Bryony Coombs (University of Edinburgh) was awarded the 2021 Jack Medal for her chapter ‘Albany and the Poets: John Stuart, Duke of Albany, and the Transfer of Ideas Between Scotland and the Continent 1509-1536,' which was published in Britain and its Neighbours: Cultural Contacts and Exchanges in Medieval and Early Modern Europe (Routledge, 2021).

The medal was awarded by the judging panel in recognition of the chapter's extensive primary research which illuminates the transnational history of Renaissance Scotland in a precise, original, fresh and readable way.

Emilio Amideo (University of Naples “L’Orientale”) was awarded an Honourable Mention for his chapter 'Waves of Sound, Gender Fluidity, and Shifting Kinships in Jackie Kay's Trumpet,' which was published in Queer Tidalectics: Linguistic and Sexual Fluidity in Contemporary Black Diasporic Literature (Northwestern University Press, 2021). The judges agreed that the chapter provides a searching and original examination of diasporic and gender identities in Kay’s well-known novel in the wider, transnational context of Black Queer Diaspora. 

Find out more about the awardees here


The 2020 Jack Prize

Anna Fancett (Sultan Qaboos University, Oman) for her article “Introducing Walter Scott: What Scott Scholars Can Learn from the Prefaces of Chinese Translations of Walter Scott’s Works,” which was published in The Wenshan Review of Literature and Culture, Vol. 13(2), June 2020. The judges agreed that Fancett's article offers a pioneering case study for the contemporary reception of the Waverley novels in China. By critically evaluating Chinese interpretive strategies within the theoretical frameworks of translation studies and world literature, and vis-à-vis current trends in Scott criticism outside China, the article identifies a new and important area of investigation.

Anna Fancett.png

The 2019 Jack Prize

Céline Sabiron (Université de Lorraine, France), “Amédée Pichot and Walter Scott’s Parrot: A Fabulous Tale of Parroting and Pirating,” Studies in Scottish Literature 44(2), 2018. "Sabiron's incisive analysis of nineteenth-century French translations of Walter Scott's works explores the cultural as well as the linguistic dimensions of translation."

2018 Jack Prize 

Nikki Hessell (Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand) and Stephen Clothier (Wellington City Libraries, New Zealand)   “To Mary in Aotearoa: Burns’s ‘Thou Ling’ring Star’ and Scottish Identity in New Zealand,” Scottish Literary Review 9(2), 2017. "Thessell and Clothier's consideration of Robert Burns's reception in New Zealand opens up important discussions about diaspora, indigeneity, and literary interpretation in Scottish studies."

bottom of page